Dear Poppy: thanks for the Bible

Dear Poppy,

Last night, I was flipping through the pages of my Bible.  I have been trying to read it all the way through, but I am only in Numbers.  No offense, God, but Leviticus was a desert to get through… haha no pun inteded ;).

Anyways, I wanted to tell you of a memory I have from Sunday School when I was in 6th grade.  Before that day, I can remember thinking of the Bible as this boring, huge, and dusty book that held words of ancient wisdom.  The Bible, I was sure, was a book that wasn’t meant to entertain, enthrall, or certainly not seduce.

My teacher asked us to yell out our favorite types of stories or movies.  Voices saying “bloodshed,” comedy,” romance,” and more floated in the air.  Then, my teacher changed my view of the Bible completely.  As she began to raise her Bible in the air, she told us, “This book, the Bible, is filled with any and every kind of story that you could ever want to read.  Do you want to read about war?  It’s all in the Old Testament!  What about a passionate romance?  Look no further than Song of Songs.  What about something strange?  Just as one example, there is a talking donkey in Numbers.”

After hearing this, it made you seem so much cooler!  It sounds silly and superficial, but seriously!  As a young sixth grader, I learned that You as my Father were not just some spirit that talked with “thou” and “thee” in every sentence.  

Thank you, Poppy, for teaching me so much of who You are through the Bible.  I pray that you will help me to appreciate every single word on those holy pages.

I love you! xoxoxox,

Sissy girl

~ by Sarah on December 10, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
